What’s in a name?

A lot of thought I would say. When we were planning to name you, as with most things, your pappa and I were not able to reach an agreement. Now for the back story.

When I was pregnant with you, I dreamt of a little boy who was about 3 – 4 years old. I remember calling him, Vasudev. It was a dream with such clarity that I knew that little boy was my own. In India, determination of sex is illegal. So until the day you were born, no one knew if you were going to be a boy or girl. Yeah, the docs and the radiologist would have known:). But they surely didn’t tell us. So finally when you were born, I thought I should name you Vasudev. I know it’s an old name and all that and you might have hated it for all I know. But at that time, I wished to name you that. Everyone thought it was too old fashioned and it would be heavy name for a baby. I tried to reason that you know this baby would grow up..hehehe. But nonetheless, I was also wondering what if you didn’t like the name when you grew up. So the hunt for your name started. Both me and your pappa were clear that we wanted a name that had a meaning. First we decided to look for names that were alternative names of the Lord Vishnu since Vasudeva is an incarnation of Lord Vishnu. After looking for quite a few weeks, we were not able to find one name that we fell in love with.
So the search resumed, but in another direction. We wanted something that was along the lines of a gift from god or source of joy, love, warmth. We searched, discussed with each other, tried calling you the various names we felt were okay. (Yeah Vi, Amma and Pappa were a wee bit crazy back then ;)) Finally we converged on two names – Nihaal meaning source of joy and Vihaan meaning gift of God.  And gave the options to our close family to choose between the two. And as you know by now, Vihaan was the ‘chosen one’.

Vihaan also means the ‘morning sun’, ‘the first rays of the sun’. And you are, truly my morning sun, my breath of fresh energy, my source of inspiration, my teacher, my love and my serial hugger 😉

Hence my blog name The first ray of the sun – Vihaan

But as Juliet says:
“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

You would be just as dear to us, whatever your name is. You would be still that bundle of energy , whatever name we called you. Don’t lose the brightness in your eyes, we want them to shine like the sun and give warmth to all around you always!

image

Trying to open all the locks at the Lovers bridge, Pont Neuf, Paris

Love you Vi.
~ Amma

15 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

